Curry chickpeas croquettes with eggless tartare sauce

I like legumes so much! Whatever they are lentils, beans, chickpeas…

“Legumes are typically low in fat, contain no cholesterol, and are high in folate, potassium, iron and magnesium. They also contain beneficial fats and soluble and insoluble fiber.” source: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/legumes/NU00260

In my opinion legumes made by scratch are so much better. Once I used to eat only canned legumes, because I thought I didn’t have time. The truth is I was wring! They do all by them selves! What I mean is that you just need to cover them with water overnight, let them cook in water ( I use pressure cooker to cut time) and then freeze!

Nothing against canned legumes, but I think the taste of the one made by scratch  it’s worth the effort.

Chickpeas tastes good even only with some salt and a bit of olive oil, but I like to try new way of cooking them.

Both my husband and I loved this croquettes.

To be honest, I didn’t know how to call them. Everything that got a burger-shape it’s called “polpetta” here, which is translated into “meatball”. But this name didn’t seemed appropriate. I don’t know if “croquette” is fine tough, since it relates to something deep fried (at least here) and those are not.

Anyway, here comes the recipe!

Ingredients for 2 people:

  • 240 gr 8.5 oz cooked chickpeas
  • 40 gr 1.5 oz bread (old one is better)
  • 60 ml 2 fl oz soy milk (or whatever)
  • parsley
  • 1 tsp  smoked paprika
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese (Optional)
  • 5 tbsp bread crumbs
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  1. Soak the bread into the milk
  2. Mash the chickpeas with a fork

3. Add the parsley, paprika, parsley, salt, and the bread removed from the milk and squeezed.

4. Mix everything by using your hands
5. Using a ice-cream scoop, to make standard portion
6. Roll the croquettes with your hands and then flatten a bit.
7. Mix the breadcrumbs with the curry powder and the oil 
8. Roll through bread crumbs

9. Put the croquettes over an hot no-stick pan and grill until golden brown.

Eggless tartare sauce

The first time I ever had the tartare sauce was while traveling through Australia for our honeymoon.

I liked it so much that I wanted to make it at home, but avoiding eggs.

I’ve tried and i am satisfied by the result!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup corn oil
  • 1/2 cup of soy milk
  • 2 tbsp white vinegar
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • some parsley leaves finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp capers chopped
  • salt to taste

Directions

  1. Blend oil, soy milk and vinegar with he immersion blender until it gets creamy.
  2. Add all the other ingredients and mix with a fork. Let it rest for a couple of hours
  3. (You can add gherckins, but I didn’t ’cause I don’t like it!)

I served the whole thing with romaine lettuce, red onions and tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

