Buckwheat pasta with eggplant pesto

As I told you before, my parents live 500 km from here.

They came to visit last weekend. They think I cook “strange”, but that’s not true! The reality is that they are very close minded when it comes to food.

Or maybe I am the “strange”…. I don’t know 🙂

Well, the fact is that I wanted to surprise them and yes, I really want to be complimented (or to get some compliments?!?! aahhh my english is so bad!) by them about food.

I decided to go for pasta, they are soooo italian when it comes to taste, so I couldn’t go wrong.

The difference is that I used Buckwheat flour. It is so rich in flavor with some benefits for our health check this article out to know something more about it.

This kind of  wheat is very common in Valtellina, which is a region in the northeast part of Italy.

It’s very quick and easy to make and it tastes wonderfully.

What about the topping?

Well, it’s summer! (I guess you’ve noticed!!) I love summer, the sun, the blue sky, the warm temperature, the shorts, the ice cream, I live quite everything about summer! Also I love the basil on my terrace, its smell is amazing! It’s definitely one of my favorite ingredient.

 

So I’ve made Eggplant pesto!

My mom said it was very good, while my dad didn’t said a word, but he eat everything which I guess it’s a good sign!

Ingredients 4 person:

  • 250 gr 8.8 oz buckwheat flour
  • 50 gr 1.76 oz All purpose flour (optional)
  • 1 cup and 1/2 of water
  • salt

Mix the two flour, make an hole in the middle and add the water.

Knead until is smooth (it takes few minutes)

 

Let the dough rest for 15/20 minutes and then stretch it with that thing in the picture (What’s the name in english?)

Cut as you would to with tagliatelle, but less thin.

 

EGGPLANT PESTO INGREDIENTS

  • 3 eggplants
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 oz – 30 gr good quality parmesan cheese
  • fresh basil
  • 1/2 glove of garlic
  • salt to taste

Cut the eggplant lenghtwise and put them on a rack skin-side up.

Cook in the oven ant the highest temperature for about 15 minutes, until the inside is tender.

 

Once they are cooked, remove the pulp from the skin

 

Now put all the ingredients into a blender and mix

 

I didn’t have pistachios, otherwise I would have put some in.

Try with them if you have some and let me know!

 

Well it’s time to cook the pasta for about 8 minutes (put some oil in the water to prevent pasta to stick to each other)

Before strain the pasta, reserve some of the water (about 1 cup)

Put the pasta in a bowl and mix with the pesto plus the cooking water you have reserved.

Serve 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

