Vegan Wholegrain Spelt Flour shortcrust pastry with blueberries

I love shortcrust pastry. It’s one of my favorite dessert.

As I wrote few days ago, I had delicious blueberry  and I really wanted to make a “crostata” which basically is shortbread pastry with jam on the top.

Umh, it’s been only 10 days since I’ve changed dietary style, I know I know I am addicted to sugar and I am going crazy by not eating dessert every single day. But hey it’s been just 10 days I don’t want to give up! I have to prove friends and family that I can enjoy food, even tough cooked in an healthier way.

Let’s see…. shortbread pastry it’s made by:

wheat flour : I’ve just decided to eat only whole wheat

butter: I’ve just decided I’ll have oil instead of butter

sugar: I’ve just decided I’ll reduce the sugar amount

eggs: I’ve just decided I’ll have it only once a week

No way! what can I do?! well easy! I just have to do what I’ve decided to do. I’ll use whole wheat, oil and no eggs!

Don’t get me wrong, I know there isn’t nothing wrong on eating decadent dessert with butter and eggs  for once, but the fact is that I’ve had those kind of dessert almost everyday, and now well…I really wanna try to give my body a break!

I’ve looked on the internet and I’ve found a recipe that seemed to be exactly the way I wanted. I was very curious and I gave it a try! The recipe is by an italian tv chef and I have to say the result was AMAZING! even better of the traditional recipe!!

I’ve used Wholegrain Spelt Flour, which is great since its very rich in fibre and vitamins, even though it tastes way better then the whole wheat flour.

Spelt Flour is not easy to find, especially the whole wheat. This is crazy since tuscany is one of the major region of production. So I’ve been looking everywhere, and when I almost lost hope, I’ve find it!! 12 km from where I live!!! I bought several packages just in case 🙂 Unfortunately it is kind of expansive almost 3 euro per kilo, while the wheat flour costs less then 1 euro.  What a shame!

What’s the situation in your countries? Is it easy to find and cheap?

Vegan Wholegrain Spelt Flour shortcrust pastry by Luca Montersino

Recipe

  • 17.6 oz (500 gr) Wholegrain Spelt Flour
  • 8.8 oz (250 gr) Brown sugar (I’ve used 200 gr- 7 oz)
  • 2.4 oz (70 gr) Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2.4 oz (70 gr) Corn oil
  • 4 Fl.oz (125 gr) water
  • 0.4 oz (12 gr) baking powder

Mix together the dry ingredients, then make an hole in the middle and put the wet ingredients

Mix well with hands.

The result will be a kind of soft/sticky pastry

Put into plastic wrap and let it rest into the fridge for 1 hours

Once the pastry is rested, Roll out the dough and put into a baking pan. (make sure to have your hands wet)

I’ve used only half of the dough, while I’ve freeze the other part.

Cook for 20 minutes at 180°- 356 F

You can put every kind of topping. I’ve used the blueberries I had, and it turned out as a jam, but with way less sugar and less working time! 🙂

  • 11 oz-300  gr blueberries
  • 5 fl oz – 150 ml water
  • 1 oz – 30 gr  sugar

Put the water with the sugar into a pan over medium heat.

Once the water is boiling, add the blueberries and cook for 15 minutes. Stir frequently to prevent the sauce to stick to the pan.

Once you have rolled out the pastry on a baking pan, pour the blueberry sauce on the pastry and cook  for 20 minutes at 180°- 356 F

It seemed very liquid and I was very worried

but once the crostata was ready the result was amazing!

DELICIOUS 🙂

Leave a Reply

